Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • x000748
    • Jul 2003

COnvert DivX AVI with a52 Audio to MPEG-2

I am fairly new to this stuff. I have successfully converted a number of DivX encoded AVIs and burned them as SVCD no problem. I use VirtualDub to extract audio, TMPGEnc to encode it to MPEG-2 and NERO to burn it. Now I got some AVIs where the sound is encoded using the a52 codec (I believe!). VirtualDub nor VirtualDub_AC3 do not recognize them - report an unknown codec. I can play them in Windows Media Player OK (with sound). VideoLan plays them OK as well and tells me the codec is a52. I tried converting directly using TMPGEnc (without extracting the audio first) but that didn't work. The questions I have are:

- what is the relation of a52 to ac3?
    - how can I extract the audio from this file?

Thanks for your patience.
  • setarip
    Retired
    • Dec 2001

Sounds like you'll have to download and install the audio codec. Do a Googlesearch for "a52 codec"...

(Just so you understand - Some players, by use of playback filters, can playback audio or video despite the fact that you don't have a specific codec installed. However, conversion/editing programs such as TMPGEnc or VirtualDub require that you have the actual codec installed)

Comment

• x000748
      • Jul 2003

Ok, it makes sense but...

Google search for a52 code will return no compiled codecs. The only item making sense is the liba52 codec cource code which you have to compile yourself. I tried it but the resulting files do not make sense and I don't know what to do with them. Any other possibility? Any other sources for the codec?

Comment

• toastem
        • Apr 2003

a52 sound eh?

if i remeber correctly, a52 is the open-source LINUX project to bring AC3 compatiblity to those sytems.

Comment

• toastem
          • Apr 2003

Its a linux codec for sure!