Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • namiefan
    • Jan 2004

how much to compress

I am new to video editing. I know that avi's are suppose to compress better than mpg, but i want to know how much i can compress without loosing quality.
    For example, if i have an mpg (700mb, 1000kbps bitrate, 352x240 res) , how much can i compress that file without loosing quality using divx codec? and what bitrate would i set it at?

Is there any other factor that should be considered?
  • atifsh
    Lord of Digital Video
    Lord of Digital Video
    • May 2003

every person has its own meaning of quality u hav to see ur self what u think is actually loosing quality.

say the orignal file is of 4000 kbits and u reencode it to 3500 u may not see the difference but quality loss is present even in that.
    Seems like as soon you buy somehing, v. 2 comes out 1.5 times as fast!..!

Comment

• tigerman8u
      Lord of Digital Video
      Lord of Digital Video
      • Aug 2003

avi (mpeg4) can handle a lower bitrate than mpeg 1/2 and maintain the quality of the video. The higher the resolution the higher the bitrate has to be to maintain the quality. ie with 1/2 DVD (352x480) you can use a lower bitrate. 352x240 (vcd) uses a bitrate of 1150kbps. I've seen alot of avi videos with a bitrate between 700kbps-1000kbps with a higher resolution than 352x240. Use Virtual dub or one of it's variants and cut out a couple of minutes of the video and re-encode with different settings and see what you like. After you find what you like then re-encode the whole movie.
      ps. if your source is 352x240 you won't benefit by gone to a higher resolutin.

Comment

• namiefan
        • Jan 2004

Originally posted by tigerman8u