X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • stuart21
    • Aug 2002

Video/Audio Sync

Help!!!!
    I am having serious problems decoding and converting several dvds….I have experimented with different programs, trawled forums and downloaded all sorts of codecs….

I am running Xp home on a P4 1.9ghz, 512mb Rdram, Geforce4 440ti with TDK cyclone 32x Rewriter and separate DVD rom

Software:
    Flaskmeg 0.594
    Smartripper 2.41
    Advanced bitrate calc 0.904
    Virtualdub 1.410
    Windvd 4.0.5.20

I can extract the DVD to h/d (although I get an aspi warning sometimes) using smartripper and windvd.

I then use advanced bitrate calc to work out the bitrate using 96 kb/s 44100hz single channel stereo sound and tell it I want a single cd sized file ( I always get a file 200 mb bigger ?! )

I think everything up to now is ok - although pleases correct me with any pointers-I am a Newbie!

Using Flaskmpeg I open dvd file and it detects all vobs w/o any problem, I select 0x80 audio file.
    In options/output format options I select the Divx 5.01 codec and under ‘configure’ I leave all settings to default and 1-pass
    I then select the audio codec – mpeg layer 3 and 96 kbps44100hz stereo lame 11 kb/sec sound – Why does flaskmpeg never keep his option if I go back into audio codec options later on?
    I ok everything along the way and then open ‘global project options’ – compile whole file is ticked, 25 fps (PAL) width720x576 is left untouched: decode audio and 44100hz ticked on audio tab; HQ bib filtering ticked, keep aspect ratio, no letterboxing and no crop ticked; because I’m saving as separate files I only put one file path in under the ‘files’ tab

< GASP FOR BREATH! >

I start conversion and wait 4-5 hours…. I pretty much always get a full file but the audio always seems to be both out of sync and stretched… NB usually the video is good quality.