How to convert DIVX Format into XVID Format?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • discpoby
    • Nov 2002

How to convert DIVX Format into XVID Format?

I have DIVX Format file...

How to convert DIVX Format file into XVID Format file???

Please teach to me Method......

thanks....
  • khp
    The Other
    • Nov 2001

Excuse me for asking.

But why would you want to do that ?
    Xvid and Divx are within a few % of each other quality wise. If you reencode it you are only going to loose quality due to recompression.
    Donate your idle CPU time for something usefull.
    http://folding.stanford.edu/

Comment

• saxodreng_dk
      • Dec 2002

DIVx3 to Xvid

I have the exact same question. Just bourght a Kiss DP450 DIVX hardware player. And it only plays DIVX4, DIVX5 and Xvid.

I have arround 160GB movies in Divx3 i would like to convert to a newer format. But I do not have the experience (I am a so called Newbie in converting).

I have heard about a program called VirtualDub.

Does anyone have a step by step guide for converting Divx3 to Xvid or similar. ???? There must be a very wise guy out here in Cyberspace, who would like to help - pleeeaaase

Comment

• khp
        The Other
        • Nov 2001

OK that is a valid reason. Let's do a two pass encode, this will give us the best possible quality.

1) Load the file into virtualdub.
        2) Select video->fast recompression, audio->'Direct Stream copy'
        3) Select video->compression, Select Xvid Mpeg-4, configure, and set encoding mode to '2-pass first pass', and click OK, OK.
        4) Select File->'Save as AVI', in the save menu, check 'Add operation to joblist and defer processing'. And Save the file under a new name.
        5) Select video->compression, Select Xvid Mpeg-4, configure, and set encoding mode to '2-pass second pass int.', set the desired filesize (minus the audio) and click OK, OK.