Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • wapazoid
    • Jan 2003

VOB's & DVD-R's...please assist the newbie

Hello all. This may seem like a simpleton/lamer question to some of you, so please bare with me here...

Is it possible to copy extracted VOB's from Smartripper (user selected Chapter...just the movie with no extras/menu), to a blank DVD-R disc and actually play it sucessfully on a standalone DVD player? I have been experimenting with DivX and Xvid encoding for almost two months now using several encoders & encoding methods, but I'm just far too picky when it comes to audio/video quality. Ofcourse, some of my output did come out surprisingly well, but there's no way that I would call it "DVD quality", as some online guides claim to achieve. So now I'm thinking about purchasing a DVD-RW drive so that I may be able back-up a few of my favorite movies. Just for the record, I've no interest in pirating movies (I have well over 300 purchased films), and I'd eventually like to back-up a few of them, or atleast feel comfortable knowing that I could if need be. Thanks for your time.
  • Useless
    • Jan 2003

If the whole DVD is single layer, ie, less than 4.36GB then you can copy the entire contents onto a DVD-R. If it is more than you can strip out just the movie to hopefully fit. If it is still too large than there are programs to either transcode or re-encode the bitrate down to fit.

Comment

• vljenewein
      • Jan 2003

DVD2one

Have a peek at the thread I started just above this one, for a MAJOR progam called DVD2one. What is really amazing is this thing is not even 1 mb big in size (program), yet, it did in 17 minues what took me 8 hours with REMPEG2 to do and it did it better. Quality in the end was outstanding.