Showing results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: DVD ripping in XP

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4

    Question DVD ripping in XP

    I have been ripping DVDs to divx under Win98 for a while, but recently upgraded to WinXP & now I get an ASPI error using all rippers I've tried (SmartRipper, Cladmdec, DVDDecoder). From what I can gather, ASPI has to do with SCSI devices, but I don't have any SCSI devices in my machine (everything is IDE). Does anyone know how to fix this problem?? SmartRipper has a NoASPI batch file, which supposedly disables ASPI, but I still can't rip dvds with it (ones that I can rip under 98). Any help is much appreciated.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    UncasMS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    9,047

    Default

    try the LATEST SMARTRIPPER (version 2.39 by now)

    i had it in my mail two days ago and it had been worked on a LOT!

    you can find it on my page for example.
    Last edited by UncasMS; 17 Nov 2001 at 01:42 AM

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4

    Smile

    OK, I found the problem... so for anyone else out there who's having similar problems, you need to install ASPI drivers (even though ASPI is related to SCSI stuff & you don't have any SCSI devices). For a good run down of why & how this stuff works refer to Radified Guide to ASPI... Basically you need to use ForceASPI to forcably install the drivers. After having done this all rippers I tried work including SmartRipper v2.38 (2.36 doesn't work - thanks UncasMS), CladMdec, DVDDecoder...

    Hope this helps out people.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    22

    Default

    An easy trick to avoid the ASPI error when ripping DVDs in Windows XP is to play the movie in an ordinary DVD program (I use WinDVD) and skip through ALL the chapters of the movie. You should then be able to rip the DVD using a DVD ripper program (SmartRipper works best with this method). Some programs (like DVDMaster) just won't work using this method.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    11

    Default ASPI Update?

    Originally posted by Alcoholic Ninja
    OK, I found the problem... so for anyone else out there who's having similar problems, you need to install ASPI drivers (even though ASPI is related to SCSI stuff & you don't have any SCSI devices). For a good run down of why & how this stuff works refer to Radified Guide to ASPI... Basically you need to use ForceASPI to forcably install the drivers. After having done this all rippers I tried work including SmartRipper v2.38 (2.36 doesn't work - thanks UncasMS), CladMdec, DVDDecoder...

    Hope this helps out people.
    HI Alc ninja

    I got the same problem with mine apsi driver, and i checked this suggested site, but actually i didnt work, because i wasnt quite sure which driver should i take.
    therfore there i none especially for win XP, and is it a package, or do i have to download all this particualar driver one by one.
    2. This problem does it appear only by upgrades to XP, or also after full(new) installation.

    so i would really appreciate, if you could give some more detail, or even sent those bl.... driver, hehehe

    Anyway .... thx for the report its already a great help

    cu
    Bodhi

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    11

    Default to UncasMs

    Hi U.....MS

    I just wanted to tell you that , your advise, to avoid aspi driver errors, by installing smartripper 2.39 didnt work out.

    But ot was worth to give it a go!

    Bodhi

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    UncasMS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    9,047

    Default

    hi bodhi,

    check your other posting
    Last edited by UncasMS; 17 Nov 2001 at 01:55 AM

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Yep, use ForceASPI. You need it to burn CD's as well, if you use anything other then XP's built in job. I believe Nero may have it on their site, if not check
    http://www.elaboratebytes.com/eb/ (I think....) This is an excellent site for burning, and you can score serial numbers if you need, but its pretty much dedicated to Clone CD. Also, I think that site is down more then up, but its actually good enough that I still keep it in the favorites and hope its up when I need it.....

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. DVD Decrypter and DVD Shrink 3.1.5. creating pause ??
    By Nobodydies in forum DVD Authoring and Editing
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 5 Nov 2009, 09:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •