X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • angel
    • Nov 2001

how to erase DVD+RW?

Hi

I bought a DVD+RW for use as testing, since I'm a newbie when it comes to DVD, and I want to experiment with stuff.

I use ifoedit to create the disc image file, and use DVD Decryptor to burn to the DVD media. However, it wouldn't let me write on it, saying that the media is not formatted.

So, I right-clicked on the drive name, select Format, as you'd do when formatting floppies or HDD. Now, DVD Decryptor is able to write the image file onto the disc.

The problem is now I want to burn new image file, and need to blank this disc. I've tried Nero, CloneCD, Easy CD Creator and all of them failed when attempting to erase the disc: "Target SCSI error" is given.

Any help will be greatly appreciated. My DVD drive is NEC DVD+RW ND-1100A.
  • McMillan
    • Feb 2003

Try right clicking it again and select "format"...
    This might help, since you've enabled it that way in the first place.
    What windows are you running?
    ...this MIGHT not be the best picture that I have...

Comment

• angel
      • Nov 2001

Ack, forgot about tat. I'm running on Windows XP SP1.

Yeah, I tried right-clicking it and selecting format, a data protect error comes out.

I was told that erasing DVD RW is the same as erasing CD RW, dunno how true that is.

Thanx for the suggestion anyway.

Comment

• McMillan
        • Feb 2003

Hmmm that should be true, I mean erasing DVD-RW. It should be the same as ordinary CD-RW. However, try this:
        1. Use NERO and try getting as new version as possible
        2. Load the DVD and select media info
        3. If the session isn't closed, close it. Or, try to open last session (on RW media that should be possible)
        4. Try erasing it after doing this actions
        5. If that fails, buy another DVD-RW

Comment

• angel
          • Nov 2001

Hi McMillan

What do u mean by open/close session? To check media info, u press Ctrl+I right?