X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • burn out
    • Apr 2003

Media Player Classic

Hello everybody,
    just dropped in in a hurry. I downloaded the media player classic RAR file and tried to extract it. Win Rar shows the following errors:
    Unknown method in mpcexe
    No files to extract
    Can't execute mpc.exe

Oh man. I'm helpless. Please gimme just a pointer or s.th. I hve no time to read hundreds of pages just to get able to install this Program.
    I'd entirely appretiate any sort of help.
    BTW. I'm new to this. Thought that this one is an alternative to the Real Player that bites deep into my OS I think.
    What do you guys think about MPC?
  • t3ch
    H4x0r of Gibsons
    • Mar 2003

MPC as in.. Windows MPC?? If so, it's already on your computer

c:\program files\windows media player\mplayer2.exe

Just set the file associations under it's properties.

Err, you ARE using windows, right? And RealPlayer is this biggest pos crap ever made. I don't know of any players that play .rm, so that's the only thing I use it for... even then I'm reluctant
    OGSTH! my webpage
    ----------------------------
    Knowledge is power. Power corrupts. Study hard, be evil.

Comment

• burn out
      • Apr 2003

Big Hello to Dallas,

Looks like a misunderstanding. Check out this address:
      http://www.divx-digest.com/software/media_player_classic.html

I read a thread on www.hydrogenaudio.org where some folk mentioned this one to be a nice player. I lost the thread, and it wasn't too detailed anyway as this forum section was MP3 oriented.

Comment

• UncasMS
        Super Moderator
        • Nov 2001

are you using an up2date version of winrar??

Comment

• burn out
          • Apr 2003

Guess I solved the problem. Thing is that I tried to load a new WinAmp3 version skin.
          I tried to follow the instructions that I copied for you below. But it didn't help though. Wert to the WA 2x section and got me the skins for that version. Oh BTW I'm using WA 2.8.