X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • maiki
    • Jul 2003

Video Capture and Hard Disk Problem

Hello--

The question is rather long, I hope some have the patience to go through it, and can offer some insight and suggestions into the problem. I am a newbie to digital video and video capture, although I'm fairly computer literate.

My computer is a Fujitsu laptop, Lifebook C series Model 2210, Pentium 4-M 2gHz CPU, memory expanded to 768 MB, 30 GB HD, running Windows XP Home, updated via Windows Update with all the newest patches. Video memory changed from 32 to 64.

Just recently I purchased a simple external USB analog video capture device, a Dazzle DVC 80. I have tried recording movies from VHS tape through this device to the computer, with which I can later perhaps record them to CD (the computer's DVD/CDRW drive can only playback DVDs, only burns CDs), or compress them to Pocket PC format to watch on my PDA. I have tried this with different software, some that came with the device and other hardware I have, and others I downloaded.

The capture seems to start OK, but then quickly runs out of space. It seems like most capture software captures first uncompressed, before encoding and compressing, and uncompressed video takes an incredible amount of space. So, even with about 8 or 9 GB left on my 30 GB hard drive, I quickly run out of space, and can't record very much, nothing close to a full movie.

So, I decided to purchase a large external hard drive. I purchased an 180 GB Firewire HD over the Internet. My laptop has both Firewire and USB 2.0, and USB 2.0 is supposed to be a little faster than Firewire, and devices with USB 2.0 cost a little less than Firewire devices. However, I have read that there are still many problems with USB 2.0 devices, it being such a new technology, so I figured the Firewire would work more reliably.