• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • David G.
    • Sep 2003

Problems after reinstalling Windows Media Encoder 7.1

Hello everyone!

I am rather new to video encoding etc.
    I had installed Windows Media Encoder 7.1 and used it without problem to convert MPG or AVI files to WMV files. Unfortunately, I then installed Windows Media Encoder 9, which should have been much better but actually didn't work well on my system. It was way to slow, even though my computer is fast (2.8 MHz, 512 RAM, Windows XP). The exact same problem happened on a second computer.

I decided to uninstall the version 9 and reinstall version 7.1., hoping everything would work fine again, but it didn't ! Even though I haven't changed anything to my system (except uninstalling/reinstalling version 7.1 and installing/uninstalling version 9), version 7.1 isn't working anymore.

Whenever I try to convert a MPG or AVI file into a WMV file (which I need e.g. in order to play it on a Pocket PC), I get an error message (it's in French but let me tell you in a few words : it basically says that this file is not a valid multimedia file, that its format is not accepted or that the file is corrupt; then it says something like "0xC00D1B71", which I interpreted like some kind of reference to a codec missing (I told you I'm not an expert in videos); I installed the codecs recommended on this forum (DivX 311 Alpha) but nothing changed...

HELP please! How can I get my Windows Media Encoder 7.1 to work just as fine as before installing Windows Media Encoder 9, or how can I get Windows Media Encoder 9 to work faster ? It works fine when I simply convert a file into WMV, but this file can't play on a pocket PC; when I use the specific option to convert into a file playable on a Pocket PC, the program becomes slow and unconvenient to use.