Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • alexgui
    • Oct 2003

Are images necessary?

I am quite new to this and hoping in some help to clarify a doubt I have.

I have read several DVD "back-up" guides and almost all of them end by recommending to create an image (for instance with imgtool or other equivalent tools and then burn it using Nero, DVD Decrypter or others.

My question is: why is it necessary to go this extra step of generating an image? I have tried to copy the whole VIDEO_TS directory from my hard disk to a DVD and it works just fine. What am I missing?

Regards,
    Alex
  • setarip
    Retired
    • Dec 2001

"What am I missing?"

Nothing at all. If you have decent burning software that handles DVD-video structure properly, there is no need to perform the extra step of creating an image file...

(The guides you've read are probably within the realm of, "You can do this using only freeware")

Comment

• alexgui
      • Oct 2003

Originally posted by setarip
      "What am I missing?"

Nothing at all. If you have decent burning software that handles DVD-video structure properly, there is no need to perform the extra step of creating an image file...

(The guides you've read are probably within the realm of, "You can do this using only freeware")
      Thanks setarip. I don't want to abuse of your kindness but I would like to fully understand your statement. I am using the software that came with the DVD drive (CDnow). I am just telling the software to create a Data disc and copying the "VIDEO_TS" directory and all the files included to the disc. I expected the software just to copy the files there bit after bit and nothing else. When you say "handles DVD-video structure properly" does it mean that CDnow somehow finds out that those files are part of a DVD video and writes them in a different way? And how would that differ from just storing datafiles on a DVD?