Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Banshee
    • Nov 2003

Where to start ?

My auntie has made a film and wishes to burn it to DVD for use both in DVD players and playback on computer.

I am a computer programmer and I can easily playback movies on computer, but I have never made a DVD for playback on a standalone DVD unit. To compound matters I have no DVD burner to play with, and am going to travel to my aunties and must have everything ready for when I go (she lives a way off from me).

If nothing else I just want to make her .mpg playback on a DVD player, but if possible I would like to make scene selection menu's too.

Are there any existing tools for doing this? I have scoured various sites and mostly they just seem to focus on piracy of DVD's, this does not interest me at all, as my task is to make a new one.

Any tips or information you could share with me will be appreciated and received with great thanks, as once I make the journey I will be limited to dialup and AOL and I have to get the film working in one visit because she is so far away.
  • setarip
    Retired
    • Dec 2001

In what format is your aunt's video?

Comment

• Banshee
      • Nov 2003

currently it is an .mpg format .avi file. I have the technical prowess to convert it as long as I actually find out what i'm after ! I think from what I have managed to find it will want to be mpeg2?

I see from commercial CD's that they are formatted with a set directory structure and filename: VIDEO_TS/VIDEO_TS.IFO.

I'm not sure what IFO is, I guess an mpeg video format with built in scripting for the menu's/scene selection?

Comment

• setarip
        Retired
        • Dec 2001

"currently it is an .mpg format .avi file."

There is no such thing. Perhaps you mean a DivX (MPEG-4)-compressed .AVI file?

1) Load the original video file into VirtualDub (or one of its many variants) or NanDub

2) From the "File" dropdown menu, select "File Information"