Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bhylenski
    • Jan 2004

Some Quick Questions

Hello All, I am new to this forum. I just started learning about DVD, divx, and a variety of technology's that will allow me to make and edit DVD's. I have read thru the initial "stickies" posted to this forum. I have POWERDVD player and another called Roxio DVD that came with my external DVD writer. I have downloaded FFDSHOW and Gspot to be sure I have the correct video codecs.

I am from the states but living in Japan for a few years and trying to learn a variety of this just via the internet. My access to a variety of hardware/software upgrades are via the internet. But am not sure what I will need.

I have spent the last few weeks reading thru a variety of forums and manuals trying to learn about the following two items:

1. How to play new DVDs on my existing PC?

I have a plextor PX708UF 8xDVD+R, etc. But when I play new DVD's via my notebook, the sound and video skips. Yet when playing on my DVD player via tv it works beautifully.

System Specs:

Dell Inspiron 5000e
    Win 2000k pro
    196mbs RAM
    x86 Family 6 Model 6 Stepping 2 AT/AT COMPATIBLE 600mhz processor
    5GB hard drive, with 120 GB external Hardrive.
    I Have attached a txt file with some information regarding my display capabilities.

I wonder if most of my problems are because I am using a notebook that just is not capable of DVD functionality. If so, what are some processors/Graphic cards/video and audio card upgrades

2. How to play .avi files on my existing system. I have tried a few downloads and my system will play mpegs, mov, etc. but .avi files it just shows a black screen. FFDSHOW says I have all of the correct codecs and Gspot confirms it, but still no sound or video. I have checked a few files and they seem to contain data, but not sure if someone has a small .avi file that I can use to test my system.