Showing results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How is it possible to burn a DVD when there is only VTS_01_1.ifo and .vob

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    10

    Talking How is it possible to burn a DVD when there is only VTS_01_1.ifo and .vob

    How is it possible to burn a DVD when there is only

    VTS_01_1.ifo
    VTS_01_1.vob
    VTS_01_2.vob
    etc?



    if those are ripped, is it possible to just burn them as a movie? I tried using ImgTool, DVD Shrink, and CloneDVD, and they all stated that VIDEO_TS.ifo is missing. I retried renaming

    VTS_01_1.ifo

    to

    VIDEO_TS.ifo

    and it is reported as a bad structure...

    can't any app just take those files and create a DVD?
    (kind of like DVD Shrink's re-authoring main movie only)



  2. #2
    Super Member
    Super Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    253

    Default

    Download IFOedit and select 'Create IFO's'.
    Just load the first VOB and set the destination for the IFO's.

  3. #3
    Lord of Digital Video
    Lord of Digital Video
    atifsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Region Free Zone
    Posts
    1,534

    Default

    u can use TmpgEnc DVD Auther to load ur vob files, and make chapters, menues and it will make all required files in ur harddrive that u can use to burn. if u got xp it will burn too........
    Seems like as soon you buy somehing, v. 2 comes out 1.5 times as fast!..!

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    10

    Default testing ... if it were VTS_03_1.vob

    Thanks very much, I am experimenting with IfoEdit now.

    what if they were

    VTS_03_1.IFO
    VTS_03_1.BUP
    VTS_03_1.VOB
    etc...

    IfoEdit created the two new files

    VIDEO_TS.IFO
    VIDEO_TS.BUP

    as well as

    VTS_01_1.IFO
    VTS_01_1.BUP

    that are smaller in size than VTS_03_1.IFO ...

    ImgTool or ShrinkDVD won't take these files... ImgTool would crash.

    so should those 03_1.VOB 03_2.VOB
    be renamed to 01_1.VOB 01_2.VOB etc?

    what about the old 03_1.IFO and new 01_1.IFO ?
    I just moved the 03_1.IFO away and use the new 01_1.IFO to burn... fingers crossed...


  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    10

    Question can't generate menu

    seems like VTS_01_0.VOB, VIDEO_TS.VOB are the menu streams and need to be generated... can IfoEdit generate those too? I changed the settings: Create Empty Menu when Create New IFO... however... the menu VOBs are not generated....

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Super Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    253

    Default

    You don't need the menu VOBs. You have already lost these anyway.

    You simply need to rename your VOBs the same as the IFO and BUP files and delete the old IFOs and BUPs
    All you need is the VOBs from the original and the newly created files.
    What you should have below:
    VIDEO_TS.IFO
    VIDEO_TS.BUP
    VTS_01_0.IFO
    VTS_01_0.BUP
    VTS_01_1.VOB
    VTS_01_2.VOB
    E.T.C.....

    I've done this many, many times so I know it works.
    Last edited by ashy; 15 Jan 2004 at 05:20 AM

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    10

    Default thanks very much

    thanks very much.

    ImgTool would take them and they can be burned... however when they are played on the PC or set top DVD player, they will skip a little and a little in the beginning (and get better in chapter 2, 3, 4...) but then, it is a Disney DVD.... so i heard Disney DVDs can be strange in format... such as, if I use Dr. DivX to read the VOBs in, it will think that the movie length is only about half of what it should be...

    i think i just try it with some other DVDs later...
    nevertheless, thanks very much, ashy. it helped a lot.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    10

    Default Offly strange...

    So I am trying an ordinary DVD.... ( a non-Disney one)

    I can create the IFO and BUP
    and can even "Play DVD" in IfoEdit
    However when I use ImgTool Burn 1.1.0
    or Nero 6 to burn the files, both of them will report

    Reallocating of DVD Video files failed
    Do you want to burn without reallocating?

    But Note: you'll probably create another coaster!


    I assume it is IfoEdit 0.96?
    Am I using the right software?


  9. #9
    Super Member
    Super Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    253

    Default

    You are using the right software.

    Actually I have had this error once or twice myself in the past.
    I don't know why it happens but sometimes the IFO creation doesn't work properly.
    It's not just IFOedit that does either, I've had it happen with other software even Scenarist.

    Usually if you do it again it will work fine and won't give you that error. This is also probably what is causing the jerky playback.
    I seem to remember that happening to me once when I tried to ignore that error.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •