X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • TheJudge
    • Feb 2004

Divx encoding - audio sync problem

Hi all!!!
    I'm new in the Divx-encoding-world. I have a Leadtek XP 2000 Expert tuner card. With this card I can capture programs in mpeg2 format (768*576 PAL) audio: MPEG1 Audio layer II 224 kbps. The result is very good quality but it is a large mpeg2 file (4-5GB/90min). I've try to encode that in divx movie. But at the end. I've got an audio sync problem (the audio part is faster then the video). I've use Virtualdub-Mpeg2 (1.5.10-build 18189) for encode. I've try the following settings: video: full processing, frame rate change so video and audio duration match(24.904)(but I've try also with 25), compression - Divx 5.05(variable bitrate mode, 1 pass, 950 kbps, resize to 480*352 - bilinear, very soft)
    audio: full processing mode, compression: MPEG Layer3, 128 kBit/s, 44100 stereo (I've also try to convert to 48000 but I've got still the same result). At the begining I've try to encode to a bigger resolution (640*480) and I've try more divx bitrate settings (from 900 to 1400). I've done all that on Athlon XP 2400+, 256 MB, Seagate 80GB, 7200. Where is the problem? Is this system is too slow for encoding or in these settings I've made some mistake? Sorry for my bad english. Thanks for help. Bye.
  • UncasMS
    Super Moderator
    • Nov 2001

i woud NOT change the framerate in any way

unless you have so called dropped frames while capturing (i.e. same frames might be skipped when the system can not keep up) your oridnal file should be fine and in sync

is that the case or do you already have problems at that stage??
    check your file at the beginning, in the middle and at the end

if the source-file is fine, i would give it a try with DVX, because this tool was first written for dvb => divx conversion and your captured mpeg-2 with an mp2 audio is similar in terms of what has to be done in the whole process

Comment

• TheJudge
      • Feb 2004