Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • nathall69
    • Feb 2004

MPEG encoding problems !@#$

Ok. I am fairly new to this sort of thing. Kind of.

I've been using Nero for over a year to encode smaller AVI's on-the-fly. Lately, it's been acting up and crapping out at about 60% of the way through with the error "Unkown MPEG encoder error." WTF is *that* supposed to mean? Here I thought the days of cryptic meaningless computer error messages were long since gone.

Also, lately I've been wanting to burn some larger AVI's that first need splitting. No problem, I think to myself. Go online and download an AVI->encoder/splitter and kill two birds with one stone. So I get turned on to this TMPGEnc program that people keep raving about. WRONG.

Not only will TMPGEnc not complete encoding, it craps out FAR before Nero at about 1% of the way through. Doesn't matter if I'm trying to use the source range feature to encode half an AVI, or trying to encode the whole thing. I'm not the kind of guy to quickly ask for a hand, so I decide to try a different encoder. I see something about a program called AVI2VCD. Start it up, and let it work it's magic. Come back an hour or so later, and I'm looking at an estimated completion time of 300 hours. Wait...run that by me one more time? 300 hours.. THAT'S 12 DAYS. Screw that. Hit cancel, try a few more encoding programs all to various degrees of failure.

So here I am two weeks later, and *VERY* pissed off. For some reason, I think my best bet will be TMPGEnc if I can figure out how the heck to get it working for me.

So here's the information I have as of right now if it means anything to someone else:

* TMPGEnc craps out at around 1%, but always at a different frame, it seems random. I've never gotten to 2% completion, though. The two messages I always get are "Write error occured at address 00AD208 of module 'TMPGEnc.exe' with 0000002C" or "Read error occured at address <insert address here> of module 'TMPGEnc.exe' with FFFFFFFF".