Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Showing results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: playing movies off hdd

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    11

    Default playing movies off hdd

    hello all, not sure if this is in the right place,sorry if wrong.
    i have been reserching the process of ripping dvd's for a couple of weeks know and i am finding it diff. all i want to do is watch the movies i puchased off my hdd without disk. i have tried smart ripper and dvd decoder both of these prog's turn my movie into diff chapters but not combined as one movie. i did try a prog called dvdtodivx it worked greate on one of my movies but i get vid/sound synk problems on others. i have an 1640 pro slot dvd drive, they don't sell them anymoore and i don't want to burn it out by useing it all the time. also i get this error when trying to playback files with divx, cound not find vobsub.dll in the ati directory, any help would be apreciated, thanks.

    the dude.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    UncasMS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    9,047

    Default

    use either smartripper or decrypter to read the dvd content to your hdd

    then use powerdvd which has an option to play movies from hdd

    it is perfectly fine, that vobs are still split into 1gb

  3. #3
    Lord of Digital Video
    Lord of Digital Video
    tigerman8u's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,123

    Default

    You have to use a dvd player software. I use Windvd.

  4. #4
    Digital Video Enthusiast
    Digital Video Enthusiast

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    U.K/England
    Posts
    335

    Default

    Or you could always go into the setting's (in dvd decrypter) and everytime you find the option "split file" choose none in all of them. This will give you a big VOB file and you can then play it back in any program you want that will take VOB files. I don't know if you already do this, but in setting's choose the region that you live in when it comes to protection. For me it's 2.
    Computer Fanatic

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    UncasMS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    9,047

    Default

    choose none in all of them
    possible: yes
    advisable: no

    this doesnt make a difference in terms of playability but will not be possbile on fat32

    thus: not a good idea at all

  6. #6
    Digital Video Enthusiast
    Digital Video Enthusiast

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    U.K/England
    Posts
    335

    Default

    I only have an NTFS system so....oh well i suppose it's only good for when you want to encode with virtual dub mod then. And before you say anything, yes i have tried to load single VOB,s into it and it only takes the first VOB and not the rest, that's why i have to merge them together with dvd decrypter.
    Computer Fanatic

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    UncasMS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    9,047

    Default

    its not my fault that you didnt use proper routines *g*

    playing a movie from hdd without having to join vobs is no big deal at all

    i dont really want to discuss the pros and cons of joining vobs, but it is in no way neccessary (and not possible on fat32)

  8. #8
    Digital Video Enthusiast
    Digital Video Enthusiast

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    U.K/England
    Posts
    335

    Default

    No i can play them from the HDD, i'm on about virtual dub mod when encoding. Virtual dub mod will only take the first VOB and not the rest. But anyway this is someone elses post, i'll leave this here.
    Computer Fanatic

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    UncasMS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    9,047

    Default

    what does the fact that vdMOD/vd/nandub only accepts one file (without any additional script) have to do with the problem of this thread?

    ++++++++++
    btw, the cure for your vdMOD *problem* is avs (you might meanwhile know what this abreviation stands for) or d2v

  10. #10
    Digital Video Enthusiast
    Digital Video Enthusiast

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    U.K/England
    Posts
    335

    Default

    Nothing, just saying. Sorry i upset you

    P.S i was on about virtual dub mod, not the other 2.
    Computer Fanatic

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    11

    Default

    man you guys are the best i will give it a shot and i hope this does the trick. by the way i use win 2kpro. i looked in all the settings but didn't see a setting for region, but i am a newb and probobly missed it. thanks again.

  12. #12
    Digital Video Enthusiast
    Digital Video Enthusiast

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    U.K/England
    Posts
    335

    Default

    I don't know if it's this, but removing the right region protection is on the first tab when the pop up comes up. Have you decrypted them in one big file? did it play okay?
    Computer Fanatic

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    11

    Default

    the only thing i have been able to rip is the movie in chapters. the files play fine and sound is very good. but i have to open each chapter independently, once the chapter ends i have too start another. i have never messed with the region because i have read that most programs defalt to my region. but i am a newb and don't understand what that means. is it differant movies are zoned too differant regions or countries? i am still looking for a tab that lets me select rip mode. also i found i am useing power dvd version 3.0.0 should i look for a later version ? this came with my 1640 pro dvd player.

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    11

    Default

    i am right now trying too set the settings i just noticed the file splitting in the setting of dvd decrypter i set all of them to none.
    i still havent found anything on the region, if i do is too the country i live in?

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    11

    Default

    ok i have what looks like a yellow tryangle on the dycripter start-up that sais rce protection found, if the disk is not region 1, you will need to configure the region in setting, by the region shown on the dvd cover or box. yes i just found the region tab but i don't see anything on the box still looking.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •