Showing results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Burning to a DL disc

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3

    Question-2 Burning to a DL disc

    I want to back up our movies with no compression so as to not loose any video quality. I am ripping with dvdfab and need to know how to convert the TS files to something I can burn or what program to use. I also want to keep the menu and extras as the kids like to go through that stuff as much as watch the movie. This forum has been a lot of help.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    jmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    East, TX
    Posts
    8,697

    Default

    Welcome to the Digital Digest Video forum hbunker!

    You can burn the files that DVDFab Decrypter leaves with Nero. Here is a guide on how to do it: http://forum.digital-digest.com/show...453#post221453

  3. #3
    Platinum Member
    Platinum Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    180

    Default

    hbunker - Since you're burning a DL DVD make sure that the NERO window shows something like 8500 in the bottom right corner and not 4500

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    jmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    East, TX
    Posts
    8,697

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by doit2it
    hbunker - Since you're burning a DL DVD make sure that the NERO window shows something like 8500 in the bottom right corner and not 4500
    This is what he is talking about below:


  5. #5
    Digital Video Expert
    Digital Video Expert
    Cambion7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    557

    Question

    Do the Dual Layer media actually play in a stand-alone player? I tried this once before and my old sony player that sees dvd-r's just fine doesn't see this as a valid disc.

  6. #6

  7. #7
    NOT an online superstore drfsupercenter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    4,424

    Default

    I burned two of them just fine with ImgBurn. I set a layer break in PgcEdit, then burned in ImgBurn, and they play fine on 2 out of 3 players. I will kick my Panasonic for not playing them.
    CYA Later:

    d̃ŗf̉śŭp̣ễr̀šŰǹt̉ếř
    Visit my website!!

    Cool Characters Make your text cool
    My DVD Collection

  8. #8
    Digital Video Expert
    Digital Video Expert
    Cambion7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    557

    Question What is the most-preferred burning software for DL?

    I've always used the usual tool to burn my backups to media, CDVD2. What tool is recommended for burning to DL media? I have a Pioneer A08 and had to use the bundled software to burn the only single DL burn I've ever done.

    BTW, I really appreciate the help and energy eveyone has put into these forums. Thanks.

    Imgburn won't due for me, unless someone can tell me how to get my DVD files into an ISO.
    Last edited by Cambion7; 23 Nov 2005 at 03:47 PM

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanx for the help. Burned and played just fine.

  10. #10
    Not a god of digital video blutach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    is everything!
    Posts
    24,627

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cambion7
    Imgburn won't due for me, unless someone can tell me how to get my DVD files into an ISO.
    Try ImageToolClassic available from www.coujo.de

    Regards

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3

    Default

    One more quick question. Where do I set the booktype to dvd-rom?

  12. #12
    Digital Video Expert
    Digital Video Expert
    Cambion7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    557

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blutach
    Try ImageToolClassic available from www.coujo.de

    Regards
    Hey Blutach,
    Thanks for the suggestion. I've downloaded that tool last evening, and will try that package itself tonight when I get in from work. I was using PgcEdit, clicked the burn button, and tried to create an ISO that way. As you know it uses a component of ImageToolClassic, but I had an error saying the image was too big to fit on a DL. Funny since the disc I am backing up is already on a DL, I was just wanting to re-burn using book type DVD-ROM.

    Best Regards

  13. #13
    Not a god of digital video blutach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    is everything!
    Posts
    24,627

    Default

    Well that is how I make the images - PgcEdit has not let me down ever.

    I will inform r0lZ who will undoubtedly take an interest in it.

    Regards

  14. #14
    Digital Video Expert
    Digital Video Expert
    Cambion7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    557

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by blutach
    Well that is how I make the images - PgcEdit has not let me down ever.

    I will inform r0lZ who will undoubtedly take an interest in it.

    Regards
    Blutach,
    I backed up a concert DVD the other night, about 7 or so gig in size. After making an ISO with ImgTool and burning it to a DL it played fine on the software player. But on the TV Top the odd thing happens. Subpics are on by default, whereas on the software player it is not. I remedied it by using PgcEdit's "Jump to PGC upon DVD Insert" using your guide (well done ). I was just curious as to why that would happen. I've read that in some cases players might not like 'defaults', which is why from now on I will always go and select audio and subpic properties via PgcEdit. Anyway if you have any opinions as to how this happened I would love to hear it. Thanks!

    Regards,
    Cambion

  15. #15
    Not a god of digital video blutach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    is everything!
    Posts
    24,627

    Default

    It might be that the IFOs somehow actually set these on. Or your player just does this. Did it occur on the original DVD? Really can't tell for sure without analysing the IFOs.

    I think your proposed method is good for future backups.

    Regards

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •