Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Showing results 1 to 15 of 30

Thread: DVD burners with bitsetting support

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    2

    Default DVD burners with bitsetting support

    currently using a pioneer dvr-109 with firmware 1.58 and a sony dru-700a with firmware VY08, my problem is the sony doesnt support +r dl bitsetting and i dont think the pioneer supports bit setting at all as each time i try to change it it fails with all types(+r, +rw and +r dl), if any1 has any suggestions on a good +r dl burner with bit setting support that would be fantastic

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    benq's nec's lg's plex's

    the sony will crossflash lite on and bittsett no DL support!
    Last edited by Chewy; 6 Dec 2005 at 01:58 PM

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    what's the nero info tool say about the pioneer?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    2

    Default

    i would post a pic of it but wont let me upload image
    and thanx for info on other brands, doesnt matter which model that they are does it?

  5. #5
    Digital Video Master
    Digital Video Master
    geno888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,081

    Default

    If you want a burner that allow you to do bitsetting, the best alternatives are:

    1) plextor drives (too bad, they are the very costly)
    2) Benq drives (1640 is right now the best, with BSLB firmware)
    3) Liteon drives (one of the best is 1693 with firmware KS0A or KS0B; maybe KS0A is a little better)

    Pioneer drives, if I'm not wrong, allow to change bitsetting only on dual layer discs, and this is done automatically by firmware. Some hacked firmware allow to change booktype also to single layer media, but installing an hacked firmware invalidate your warranty, so do it at your risk.

    With benq and liteon drives there are also many tools available, some from the original developer (SQuite for benq and booktype utility for liteon), but also many non official tools that allow to do many things.

    For example, there are tools to change writing strategy on the firmware. Some users obtained very good burnings changing firmware writing strategy.


    Addendum:
    I also can't attach any image, and I don't know why. Simply the server refuse to upload images from my computer.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    geno, what is the extension of the image and are you using manage attachements?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gatos
    i would post a pic of it but wont let me upload image
    and thanx for info on other brands, doesnt matter which model that they are does it?
    does nero info tool show DL support with that pioneer and that frimware?

    nevermind

    http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=139022

  8. #8
    Digital Video Master
    Digital Video Master
    geno888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,081

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chewy
    geno, what is the extension of the image and are you using manage attachements?
    These are .png files, about 30 KB each

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    go advanced manage attachments
    browse open upload file close window

  10. #10
    Digital Video Master
    Digital Video Master
    geno888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,081

    Default

    This is exaclty what I do, but server always refuse my attachments. It says file don't uploaded

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    how long do you wait?

  12. #12
    Digital Video Master
    Digital Video Master
    geno888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,081

    Default

    until it say me that file wasn't uploaded

    Do I need to wait longer?

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    it might be a problem with your server
    are you running a firewall?

  14. #14
    Digital Video Master
    Digital Video Master
    geno888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,081

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chewy
    it might be a problem with your server
    are you running a firewall?
    Yes, I use NIS, but I can upload any image on cdfreaks, so I don't think that is my firewall to block something.

    Anyway, what option should I check on my firewall?

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    something about ask me, might have granted permission to cdfreaks
    but not here, never know!
    I think we are on the right track. Are you behind a hardware nat?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •