Showing results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Need Help To Find Codec

  1. #1
    Just Trying To Help soup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canada Region 1
    Posts
    7,524

    Question Need Help To Find Codec

    I have installed GSpot which brings up first ?.Should I be looking at afreecodecvt?As far as I know codec wise I have installed ffdshow latest,Xpcodec pack 1.3.0 and Xvid.Now there might be more because I also have Avi2Dvd.Anyway with all this Gspot tells me that I need fourcc Div3 name DivX3 low motion and there might be an AP attached to that I don't know where I got it from in my notes.Where would I find it?I was thinking of downloading K-Lite codec pack full v2.66 but i am holding off until I get advice from here.GSpot also tells me that one of the codecs is improperly registered Fraunhofer audio D what do I do about this?Last ? I promise should I be looking at getting rid of safely any of these packs without hurting anything else.I don't seem to be having any problems so far.Lost in no man's land please help.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    UncasMS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    9,047

    Default

    divx 3 AP (angelpotion) should be played fine via FFDSHOW

    i wouldnt want to install this particular divx3 version as i consider it real CRAP and playback can be achieved with alternative decoders

  3. #3
    Just Trying To Help soup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canada Region 1
    Posts
    7,524

    Default

    What would you suggest as I have FFDSHOW installed but GSpot doesn't seem to be reading it or does GSpot only go from it's own database and not my system.If there is an alternative I will try it because I am converting from avi to dvd.Thanks for your reply I am kind of new to this.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    anonymez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    5,525

    Default

    "Xpcodec pack 1.3.0"

    not a good idea IMO. codec packs are evil.

    go into ffdshow's video decoder configuration, find "divx 3" in the codecs list, and make sure its set to 'libavcodec'. you might also want to to do the same for "other mpeg4". this should allow you to play it.

    to be able to encode, do the same, but this time go through ffdshow's "VFW codec configuration" & do the same
    "What were the things in Gremlins called?" - Karl Pilkington


  5. #5
    Just Trying To Help soup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canada Region 1
    Posts
    7,524

    Default

    Video decoder configuration DivX3 & other Mpeg 4 set to Livabcodec avi will play now.Vfw codec configuration not sure what to do but don't see other Mpeg 4 there is Mpeg4/ MS Mpeg4 v2.DivX3 is set to Livabcodec but does not say low motion which is what GSpot tells me is not installed.Codec FourCC Div3 Name DivX3 Low Motion.Oh I forgot to mention XPCodec pack has mpc in the same file and when I went to move it today to get rid of pack mpc would not come up as recommended program to play avi's where it did before in fact I even had it as default.
    Last edited by soup; 1 Jan 2006 at 04:33 PM

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    anonymez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    5,525

    Default

    click the "decoder" tab when you open VFW configuration. then set divx 3 & other mpeg4 to libavcodec
    "What were the things in Gremlins called?" - Karl Pilkington


  7. #7
    Just Trying To Help soup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canada Region 1
    Posts
    7,524

    Default

    I have done what you said sorry you had to do it so mant times.Same message comes up 4 out of 6 avi files.They will play they will render but when it comes to video top right hand corner codec not installed.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    anonymez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    5,525

    Default

    guess you might have to bite the bullet & install either divx 6 or divx 3.11 http://www.divx-digest.com/articles/divx311_setup.html

    it won't do any harm, but you should uninstall it, if, after this conversion, you don't have any more divx3 files. just for good measure
    "What were the things in Gremlins called?" - Karl Pilkington


  9. #9
    Just Trying To Help soup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canada Region 1
    Posts
    7,524

    Default

    Thank you anonymez but from the tone of your message I am going to sleep on that one.I did visit the thread but I want to be a little bit livelier to look it over.As it is 12:10 AM here Happy New Year.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    anonymez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    5,525

    Default

    HNY, soup

    the less codecs on a system, the better. it won't harm your pc
    "What were the things in Gremlins called?" - Karl Pilkington


  11. #11
    Just Trying To Help soup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canada Region 1
    Posts
    7,524

    Default

    Before I did what you advised GSpot had 44 video codecs then after I changed it still had 44 video codecs wouldn't that mean it didn't load the ones I did?I think I could use direction on getting rid of codecs that I don't recquire like XP & Xvid.Is FFDSHOW all I really need?I just use NeroVision Express 3 & Avi2Dvd.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    anonymez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    5,525

    Default

    A list of programs/filters that should allow playback of almost anything:

    -ffdshow
    -Dscaler5 (Optional)
    -Haali's Media Splitter
    -Real Alternative
    -Quicktime Alternative
    -Media Player Classic
    -VLC

    Last edited by anonymez; 7 Mar 2007 at 04:26 PM Reason: updated links
    "What were the things in Gremlins called?" - Karl Pilkington


  13. #13
    Just Trying To Help soup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canada Region 1
    Posts
    7,524

    Default

    I had seen your guide before and I should paid more attention to it.I did some housecleaning and either uninstalled or deleted GSpot/Xvid/XP/ffdshow/etc.I then installed real alternative/ffdshow/oggdsfilter/avicodec.I already had power dvd/Qalt/wmp/.Used avicodec and checked same files all supported.The only thing I did not find was nvidia but I guess if the files are supported I do not need it for now.I haven't completed the projects yet but thanks to you anonymez I feel a lot better about it.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Can't find the right MPEG codec!
    By Hatter in forum General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19 Dec 2004, 06:40 PM
  2. VirtualDub Audio error
    By Rayzyn in forum Other Software
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10 Nov 2004, 08:19 PM
  3. Can't find the right codec
    By Mosthated in forum AVI, DivX/Xvid
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 20 Aug 2003, 05:20 AM
  4. urgent help - nimo codec installer wrecked codecs
    By morbo in forum Other Software
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 4 Nov 2002, 09:12 AM
  5. Divx5 codec problems
    By amert20 in forum AVI, DivX/Xvid
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 24 Jun 2002, 03:03 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •