Showing results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Firmware

  1. #1
    Im Off To See The Wizard mill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    cornfields
    Posts
    1,105

    Default Firmware

    What are the things to look for when updating your firmware, other then if it,s for your drive? I mean what do you do find the spec,s of the burner, and then compare or see what the new firmware will do for it or what.And what is the benifits, of having a region free firmware up date.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    mil,
    I have been studying the questions you've posed for 6 months now.
    Here in the USA, region free is not very usefull for most of us.
    To study firmware and burners in depth
    http://club.cdfreaks.com/
    very complexe subject
    buy 3 more burners after reading for a few weeks and ur ready to go!

    you did get a 4 drive case?
    Last edited by Chewy; 1 Jan 2006 at 11:25 PM

  3. #3
    Im Off To See The Wizard mill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    cornfields
    Posts
    1,105

    Default

    yep got three empty, getting the itch to fill one of them up. If i did get another do i put it on the same ide?

  4. #4
    Unavailable
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    321

    Default

    i have 2 burners on the same ide , best not to put burners on the same channel as a hdd

  5. #5
    Im Off To See The Wizard mill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    cornfields
    Posts
    1,105

    Default

    by same channel you mean same cable?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    mill,
    you have hard drive on serial
    you can put your next burner as standalone master on another ide cable

    then you can COF at 16x(between the 2 burners)
    8x would be safer

    while you're at it be thinking about another serial hard drive, makes
    video work fly

  7. #7
    Im Off To See The Wizard mill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    cornfields
    Posts
    1,105

    Default

    Another Hard Drive: - SATA3G - Western Digital Caviar SE 160 GB 2nd Hard Drive: SATA3G - Western Digital Caviar SE 160 GB RAID Setup: None
    Chewy, i have two. C- D ,I hope i didnt mess things up when i install that chipset, it said somthing about bottleneck. I have so much to learn.
    Last edited by mill; 2 Jan 2006 at 12:15 AM

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    2 physical hard drives or partitions

    you ordered 2 in the build, way to go?

  9. #9
    Im Off To See The Wizard mill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    cornfields
    Posts
    1,105

    Default

    Yea, it's pretty neat rip to d then shrink to c and burn on e, but the credit goes to you and all the people on the forum, for all the help
    Last edited by mill; 2 Jan 2006 at 12:31 AM

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    what you didn't buy an emachine? or a compaq?

    when you get ready to reload some day, check back about partitioning
    hard drives, that's why I wouldn't let any company build a computer for me!
    System partitions need only be 10-20 gigs

  11. #11
    Im Off To See The Wizard mill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    cornfields
    Posts
    1,105

    Default

    Will do. Yea 160 is more then what i will ever use but thats the smallest drives i think they said i could use for sata. What does partitioning them improve? I had a parttition on my hp , it had the recovery there, but the last time i reinstalled windows with hps recovery set of cd's i deleted it now i wish i would not have.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    If you partition the system drive(boot) and keep most set aside for data.
    Example(160 gig/ 20 gig system and 140 gig data)
    1. you can defrag the 20 gig drive partition often and fast
    2. when you reload, you can delete the 20 gig and leave the 140 alone

    a friend uses partition magic to rearrange badly setup drives, chewy doesn't
    trust partmagic

  13. #13
    Im Off To See The Wizard mill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    cornfields
    Posts
    1,105

    Default

    Does partitioning them help from getting them corrupted?
    ps we might be getting off the sub.Not that i mind
    Last edited by mill; 2 Jan 2006 at 01:30 AM

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    Does partitioning them help from getting them corrupted?
    only in that it helps with defrag

  15. #15
    Im Off To See The Wizard mill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    cornfields
    Posts
    1,105

    Default

    ok im hopping off for awhile this little processor of a brain i got is starting to overheat dont want to get the bsod thanks for the info.
    ps ,remember all the trouble i had on updating drivers just think of me trying to make a partition ,thats scary, lol. But it is interesting because right now theres nothing on my d drive , would it be possible to but windows over there too, or wouldn't i want to. ILL check back latter Happy new year.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Flash Your Firmware
    By decryptit in forum DVD Encoding and Playback
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1 Feb 2004, 12:54 AM
  2. Pioneer DVR-A05/105 - New 1.30 Firmware
    By admin in forum DVD Blank Media, Burning, Recording Hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20 Oct 2003, 01:30 PM
  3. nec nd-1300a firmware / region free?
    By Washi in forum DVD Blank Media, Burning, Recording Hardware
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11 Sep 2003, 09:15 PM
  4. Help - Toshiba SD-M1612 Firmware revision 1002.
    By radix2k in forum DVD Encoding and Playback
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8 Nov 2002, 10:48 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •