Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Showing results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: FAQ: Using Nero InfoTool

  1. #1
    Super Moderator
    jmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    East, TX
    Posts
    8,697

    Default FAQ: Using Nero InfoTool

    Software you will need:

    1. Nero InfoTool





    The Nero Info Tool utility retrieves your computer system information. This information includes system drives, operating system, drivers listing, etc. This program analyzes and displays the main characteristics of drives, disks and the installed software. This information can also be printed or saved to a text file.

    It can analyze and display important information about the media currently in the drive, whether it be a blank DVD or a previously burned DVD. It works for DVD-R, DVD-RW, DVD-R DL, DVD+R, DVD+RW, and DVD+R DL media. It will tell you if its single layer, dual layer, or double layer. It list all the burning speeds that is supports. It also gives the total blank capacity of the disc. It gives you the "Manufacturer ID" (aka Media ID) of the disc so that you can see who actually makes the dye.

    Furthermore it will list all "video" and "audio" codec you have installed. Very handy if you are trying to determine if you have a specific codec installed or not.




    If you have Nero installed on your system, chances of having Nero InfoTool is almost certain. To start it, click "Start", then go to "All Programs" or "Programs", then click "Ahead" or "Nero", then click Nero Toolkit, then click "Nero InfoTool".

    As soon as you start it up, it will "analyze" your system and gather all the necessary information it needs. (Screen Shot Below)






    It will then present you with this screen with 7 tabs at the top (red) that cover specific areas. It also has 3 useful buttons located at the top, the "Save As" button, the "Print" button, and the "Refresh" button (blue). If you have more than 1 drive installed on your computer, you need to select the appropriate drive so that InfoTool can correctly tell you the limitations of that drive(green). (Screen Shot Below)




    Last edited by jmet; 10 Jan 2006 at 10:42 AM

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    jmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    East, TX
    Posts
    8,697

    Default Using Nero InfoTool

    Drive Tab

    This is the tab you need to click to basically see what your drive is and isn't capable of doing. It tells you the max "Read" and "Write" speeds of the drive (gold). It tells you the current firmware you have installed for the drive (purple). You are mainly concerned with "Supported Features" section (red). It will list all features for both "Read" and "Write" and if your screen has a green check mark in the box, that means your drive supports that feature (blue), if the box is empty then it doesn't support it (green). (Screen Shot Below)

    Last edited by jmet; 11 Jan 2006 at 05:56 AM

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    jmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    East, TX
    Posts
    8,697

    Default Using Nero InfoTool

    Disc Tab

    This is the tab you would need to click on to find out specific information about the media currently in that drive. In my screen shot I have a disc that was previously burnt to. This tab is basically self explanatory but, it gives you the "Title" of the DVD, that date it was burnt, the file system (a standard DVD-Video should be UDF 1.02 or ISO/UDF 1.02 bridge), the disk capactity, and which program was used to burn it (red). (Screen Shot Below)

    Last edited by jmet; 11 Jan 2006 at 07:51 AM

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    jmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    East, TX
    Posts
    8,697

    Default Using Nero InfoTool

    Configuration Tab

    Here on this tab it shows you got your hard drives & optical drives (CD-ROM/DVD+RW drives) setup and on which IDE channel they are on. One thing to definitely look at is "DMA", and see if its turned on "On" (red). If its off, go here to learn how to turn it back on. (Screen Shot Below)

    Last edited by jmet; 10 Jan 2006 at 05:22 AM

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    jmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    East, TX
    Posts
    8,697

    Default Using Nero InfoTool

    Software Tab

    Here on this tab it tells you what Operating System (OS) you are using (red), what version of Direct X you are running (blue), and it list all "Nero" applications that you currently have installed (green). (Screen Shot Below)

    Last edited by jmet; 10 Jan 2006 at 05:40 AM

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    jmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    East, TX
    Posts
    8,697

    Default Using Nero InfoTool

    Drivers Tab

    On this tab it will list all the drivers you currently have installed (red), as well as all the "Audio" ( blue) & "Video" codec you have installed (green). (Screen Shot Below)

    Last edited by jmet; 10 Jan 2006 at 05:40 AM

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    jmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    East, TX
    Posts
    8,697

    Default Using Nero InfoTool

    Hardware Tab

    This tab just displays the basic information about your computer such as what CPU you have (red), what brand and model number motherboard you have (blue), how much memory (RAM) you have installed (green), and your what Sound card and Video card you have (purple). It also tell you vital BIOS information (gold). (Screen Shot Below)

    Last edited by jmet; 11 Jan 2006 at 06:08 AM

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    jmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    East, TX
    Posts
    8,697

    Default Using Nero InfoTool

    ASPI Tab

    ASPI stands for Advanced SCSI Programming Interface. It is a software layer that enables programs to communicate with SCSI and ATAPI devices. Nero uses its own ASPI so if one doesn't show up there under "System ASPI", just click the down arrow and change it to "Nero ASPI" (red). (Screen Shot Below)


  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    jmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    East, TX
    Posts
    8,697

    Default Using Nero InfoTool

    From time to time, you may need to report certain information to someone, like which IDE channel your DVD burner is on. Here is where you would use Nero's InfoTool. Click the "Save" button (red). (Screen Shot Below)



    After clicking the "Save" button, this screen will come up. Here you can select which part of the report you wish to copy, most of the time it will be the "Configuration" section (red). Put a check mark in the appropriate box on which part you want to copy and then click the "Save" button (blue). You can use the "Preview" button to see what exactly will be copied at any time (green). (Screen Shot Below)



    After saving, you should now have a .txt file all of your information you selected. Just open that up and highlight a certain part or highlight all of it, right click then "Copy" it, then come back to the forum and "Paste" it in a reply. (Screen Shot Below)

    Last edited by jmet; 10 Jan 2006 at 10:47 AM

  10. #10
    Digital Video Expert
    Digital Video Expert
    codajohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    661

    Default

    Great tool.
    However, the Hardware tab doesn't show the CPU, Bus Speed, Motherboard, System or BIOS. Memory, Sound and Video are listed. It isn't listed in the Save/Print window either.
    Any ideas?
    Thanks,
    CJ

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    jmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    East, TX
    Posts
    8,697

    Default

    Not sure why yours isn't showing and mine do.

  12. #12
    Digital Video Expert
    Digital Video Expert
    codajohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    661

    Default

    How do I post my log? Is there any information areas that I would need to delete?

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    jmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    East, TX
    Posts
    8,697

    Default

    Your log? or do you mean screen shot? Information areas you need to delete???

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    I have asked a few times for a report to be attached to a reply and so far
    I am batting ZERO!
    Attached Files Attached Files

  15. #15
    Digital Video Expert
    Digital Video Expert
    codajohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    661

    Default

    Perhaps serial number? I've seen other posts where the person leaves out the serial number? No? I would more then happy to post a log. I've got it ready to upload. I found the attachment upload in the Go Advanced section.
    Let me know.
    CJ
    Last edited by codajohn; 8 Feb 2006 at 12:38 PM

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. How to Use Nero InfoTool
    By jmet in forum General
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 6 Dec 2007, 06:08 PM
  2. Nero InfoTool problem
    By HavingProblems in forum Junior Members/Newbies
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10 Feb 2006, 01:38 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9 Oct 2005, 07:10 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •