• Show
Clear All
  • codajohn
    Digital Video Expert
    Digital Video Expert
    • Jul 2005

External DVD Burners

Hello All,
    I need some advice on an external DVD burner. I currently have a Dell Inspiron 9100 Lap XP with a Modular Nec DVD+RW ND-6100A. Many quality burns later (due to your advice), I feel the need to relieve this internal drive of it's reading and writing job.
    Could anyone recommend a drive?
    Thanks,
    CJ
    CJ
    My DVD Collection
    Register To Join Digital Video Forums

Dell Inspiron 9100 Laptop, Windows XP Home SP 2 (build 2600), 2.80GH Pent 4, ST94811A 40GB HD, 2GB RAM, NEC DVD+RW ND-6100A 104D, ATI MOBILITY RADEON 9700, External 250GB Maxtor HD, External LG-5163D A105

IBM ThinkCenter 8189, XP Pro, 3.2GH Pentium 4, 120 GB HD, 1GB Ram, BENQ DW1650 BCIC, Nvidia GeForce FX 5200, Generic floppy disk drive (3.5")

The Golden Rules of Burning
  • Alex7718
    • Dec 2005

Okay I have some experience in External burners since I've gone through about 5 of them. Hands down the best one I've ever had is the Plextor PX-716UF as far as externals go. It also comes in an awesome stylish silver casing that looks cool anywhere you place it. Make sure you use the Firewire connectivity as opposed to the USB 2.0 (it will give you better performance and more stable burns with less playback issues).

There are only 2 drawbacks when it comes to this drive: First and foremost it is PRICEY ($200.00 or more at most places). Second is that it is an External drive. Even the best externals can never even come close to the performance of good internal burners, (Internal burners are also cheaper, too).

Do not, I REPEAT do NOT buy the External Plextor PX-740UF model. For some reason the one I had gave me nothing but headaches when it came time to play back my DVD's and I noticed bad burns all the time. The 740UF seems to HATE ImgBurn too and will cause jerky playback on most burns. It is definitely cheaper than the 716UF, but you get what you pay for.