Showing results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: PcgEdit layer break: How does "seamless cell" button work?

  1. #1
    Gold Member
    Gold Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    119

    Default PcgEdit layer break: How does "seamless cell" button work?

    I never use that and all my DL discs play fine. What's that for and how does that work? Thanks!

  2. #2
    Not a god of digital video blutach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    is everything!
    Posts
    24,627

    Default

    If you click on seamless cell, it will remove the layer break from the cell that already has it (blue line in the LB dialogue box). Then you can select a cell which might be more to your liking.

    Should you select another cell for the LB, and the leave the original non-seamless, you will get a slight "pause" when that cell begins (as well as at the real LB). So, if you plan to change the position of the LB, make the original cell seamless.

    Hope this helps

    Regards

  3. #3
    Gold Member
    Gold Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    119

    Default

    How do you get rid of the yellow line LB? If you don't pick the yellow line and pick another cell for the LB, will you still get a "pause" at the yellow line?

    Is it always a good idea to just pick the yellow line for the LB when you see one so you don't get an extra "pause" elsewhere?

    Thanks!
    Last edited by a529612; 27 Mar 2006 at 02:04 AM

  4. #4
    Not a god of digital video blutach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    is everything!
    Posts
    24,627

    Default

    Make the cell seamless. The yellow line is simply a suggested place for a LB (where a VID changes). The idea behind PgcEdit is you can select your own while making the existing LB cell seamless.

    Read the guide as to what is the best - see "Burn dual layer disks safely" in my sig above.

    Regards

  5. #5
    Gold Member
    Gold Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    119

    Default

    I made the yellow line seamless and placed the LB on a blue line elsewhere but I still see a noticeable "pause" on the burned disc at the yellow line sector. Any idea? Do some movies have stubborn LB "pause" that you just can't get rid of? Thanks!

  6. #6
    Not a god of digital video blutach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    is everything!
    Posts
    24,627

    Default

    Nope. However, some do run out the buffers and others have cell commands that basically emulate a pause (I've seen NOP cell commands at the LB, which basically says when the cell is finished playing, execute a NOP and come back - this takes a little time).

    The way to check this is to look at the PGC and see if there are any cell commands around the old LB and see if the cell that you made seamless is in fact seamless (cell flag of 8 or 10). The layer break that you chose will have a cell flag of 0 or 2.

    Regards

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Can anybody give me a good reason why my single layer burns don't work??
    By RockyMtnSwitch in forum Junior Members/Newbies
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7 Dec 2004, 03:19 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •