X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Tom Roman
    • May 2006

How to make a 1 hour video fit on a 4.7 GB DVD

Hello,
    My name is tom. I have a question that I hope can be answered. I am not a computer wiz, but I usually manage to find my way around. I am new to making videos, but have managed to make 3 DVD's. I have just video taped a peak oil conference. I was given permission to film it, if I provided a copy of the (digital video) footage. I used 11, 60 minute digital video cassettes. I thought I would just make DVD's. I have premier 6, downloaded a full tape and exported the movie as microsoft DV AVI. It turned out to be over 11 GB's. How can I make a 1 hour video fit on a 4.7 GB DVD.
    Someone who I respect very much once told me that I could find the answer to anything on line. I do hope I am in the right place. I also thank you very much for any help in advance.
    Can anyone answer in this forum answer this question.
    Just to get the record straight, I have never done this before, I am completely new to this kind of thing.
    Thank you
    Tom
  • benbryant
    Digital Video Master
    Digital Video Master
    • Aug 2005

Hi Tom Roman

Welcome to the forum. Since you've have already had the DV AVI files, the next step you need to do is to encode those files into mpeg-2 files with TMPGEnc and then author DVD them with TMPGEnc DVD Author. Please check out LT. Columbo's excellent guide which will show you step by step how to have it done correctly:

After you have everything done and if the file size is too large for a SL DVD disc, just use DVD Shrink to reduce the file size and you'll be on your way to go. Good luck

Regards

Comment

• photo_angel2004
      Queen of Digital Video
      Queen of Digital Video
      • Jan 2004

Hello Tom Roman,

I know what you mean about the large file size the first time I tackled the challenge of converting home video into dvd I was shocked to see 2 hours of video take a bit over 22 gigs myself.