Showing results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: DVD Drive does not "see" some disks

  1. #1
    Region 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    19

    Default DVD Drive does not "see" some disks

    I'm using my couple month old laptop with a Fujitsu 8x DVD -RW drive to backup my DVD collection. So I'm beeboping along making backups and everything is fine. I backup Season 1 of the Cosby show perfectly. Now I start on Season 2 and my dvd decrytper doesn't see the disk, so I go to My Computer and it does not 'see' that a disk is even in the drive. I put in "Bad Boys" or "Rumor has it" and it recognizes a disk. I put in "Deceived" (1991) and the drive does not recognize it.

    **All disks play perfectly in 3 separate stand alone DVD players.**

    Any ideas on why some disks are 'invisible' to my dvd drive. (I bought a DVD repair kit and repaired and cleaned the DVDs to no avail)

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    Hand cleaning and polishing are better than those kits

    http://forum.digital-digest.com/showthread.php?t=54849

  3. #3
    Region 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    19

    Default

    So you think it's a dvd media issue as opposed to a problem with my drive? If so, I don't really understand why it works in the standalone dvd player, but is not recognized in the PC's drive.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    I don't really understand why it works in the standalone dvd player, but is not recognized in the PC's drive.
    You are trying to oversimplyfy the problem, your laptop drive is part of the problem but old damaged disks are also part of the problem. You probably have a good standalone and a fair dvd burner. Have you tried recleaning and polishing a problem disk? Have you had any problems with the laptop and new disks?
    Those kits are usually junk.

  5. #5
    Region 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    19

    Default

    No problems with new disks. (Except this Cosby one, which is fairly new)

    I went and bought the kit because the clean/polishing method did not work. However, repairing with the kit did not work either. I think your on the right track with the good standalone vs fair dvd burner. Maybe the standlone is able to read through the damage, but the dvd drive cannot?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    Maybe the standlone is able to read through the damage, but the dvd drive cannot?
    exactly, and I used the term "fair" liberally, sometimes(rare) a firmware flash will enhance the burners reading ability, I had a combo drive that would
    kick itself into pio mode with win xpsp2(quite a chore) until I updated the firmware. Long ago and far away!

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Junior Member
    emsdallas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    DALLAS
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I've had this problem with no resolution yet. I was able to play ONE DVD-r on my PC, able to save it to my hard drive using DVD Decrypter, but now it will NOT play on PC. It does not 'see' the disc. I know part of the problem was that I had Sonic Record Now and installed Nero Ultra 7 without uninstalling Sonic. I guess more than one DVD burning software on a XP PC creates problems--Upper and Lower filters. Also, I've read about 'packet writing' and re-writable media.

    The DVD still plays on other DVD players.

    While I was troubleshooting that problem, I believe I did not update my Pioneer DVR-A06 firmware correctly and now I can't update it to the latest 1.08 version.

    I'm in the process of clearing one of the three hard drives so I can do a clean install of XP Pro.

    MAYBE, there wouldn't be such a problem if Microsoft would support DVD burning!!!!

    Thanks for listening---BigDog43, let me know if you found a fix.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I have now come across this same problem.

    I have a brand new box set of Sopranos Season 5 (HBO) and the discs are perfect New condition, althougth all have what appears to be a bit of superglue on the inner section of the disc, but not on the playable section.

    They all play OK on my Stand Alone Panasonic (Base Model) DVD
    but do not show up as even being in a DVD ROM or Burner.
    I have tried them in a notebook sony DVD combo drive that usually reads what my burners sometimes have problems with. Also tried in Pioneer A108 with latest firmware and again after reflashing with region free firmware. And again in a Sony DRW800.
    They all cannot read the discs.

    I have been able to read & rip seasons 1-4 no problem along with many many other discs.

    I fear we have a new bit of protection that stops them from being able to used in a computer and thus not able to be copied.

    Hopefully one of us will work this one out

    BTW the discs are region 1 and I have region 4 pc, but I have never had a problem getting decrypter to rip a region 1 before, but this is why I flashed the drive to region free and installed DVD region killer after I faced this problem.
    But remember I didn't get a region change prompt; the discs are simply not there as far as the PC is concerned, like trying to read a dud disc.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default

    An update

    Just found discs can be read in another PC that has no Sony devices now see thay are copy protected by disc corruption mechanisms, so I will need to use DVDfab decrypter

    I also noticed the DVD box quotes " Copy Protected & may only be played on Licenced devices" So it may be that sony devices load a blocker onto a PC??

    Yet another reason not to ever buy a sony anything.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    You have some nasty sony software installed?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •