Showing results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: 16x DVD+R On a 4x Burner?

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Super Member
    Junkie_ball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    211

    Exclamation 16x DVD+R On a 4x Burner?

    Hi,

    Can you help? i need to buy some new media but wanted to check is there any issues about using 16x disks in a 4x burner.

    I only ask as SVP say to check this media will work in a slower burner i have the latest firmware installed any help please?

    Oh by the way the disks i'm thinking of are Verbatim 'Silver Top' (16x) DVD+R. I usaully use DVD-R's but i want to change the bitsetting to DVD-ROM to try and elimanate as many compatibility problems with my stand alone as possible!
    SYSTEM:

    Pentioum Duo 6400, 8 GB Ram, 500Gb Hardrive, 32x DVD Rom, 16 x TCorp Duel Layer Burner, Geforce 7900GTX.


    Bow to the gods of Digital-Digest

    http://www.wix.com/martinhopkins/designandphotography

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    If your burners firmware is much older than the media(yes in your case)
    then chances are it won't work at all. I would stick with 8x TY made
    or the next best thing from svp

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Super Member
    Junkie_ball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    211

    Default

    Thank you will do!
    SYSTEM:

    Pentioum Duo 6400, 8 GB Ram, 500Gb Hardrive, 32x DVD Rom, 16 x TCorp Duel Layer Burner, Geforce 7900GTX.


    Bow to the gods of Digital-Digest

    http://www.wix.com/martinhopkins/designandphotography

  4. #4
    Consequence is a bigger word than you think, it's bigger than you or me dmanshead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    376

    Default

    I'm not going to say impossible but I know the slower media is getting harder to find. At this point there is still lots of 8x media but lately the only 4x I've seen are on discount shelves and I don't recall seeing any 2.4x in well over a year, except in rw. It may be time to think about upgrading to a faster burner.
    If you use these forums you will not have to face that...
    Long Live Foamy!!!

    My burners Nec ND 3550A, Benq DQ60, Liteon SHW P6S, 2 Sony AW_Q170A's (free with my new system) and JLMS XJ-HD S.

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Super Member
    Junkie_ball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    211

    Default

    Well i have a kit in mind that i'm thinking of getting in the next few month which includes a 16x dual layer burner.

    PC Kit - AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+,nForce4, 1024MB, DVD/RW, 250GB, Geforce 6800GS
    SYSTEM:

    Pentioum Duo 6400, 8 GB Ram, 500Gb Hardrive, 32x DVD Rom, 16 x TCorp Duel Layer Burner, Geforce 7900GTX.


    Bow to the gods of Digital-Digest

    http://www.wix.com/martinhopkins/designandphotography

  6. #6
    Consequence is a bigger word than you think, it's bigger than you or me dmanshead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    376

    Default

    dual core 64 bit...mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.... what do they run over across the atlantic?
    If you use these forums you will not have to face that...
    Long Live Foamy!!!

    My burners Nec ND 3550A, Benq DQ60, Liteon SHW P6S, 2 Sony AW_Q170A's (free with my new system) and JLMS XJ-HD S.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    don't ever settle for a generic or oem rebadged dvd burner, you specify.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Super Member
    Junkie_ball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    211

    Default

    The burner specified in the kit is a NEC DVD▒RW burner, ND-3550A, 16x, Dual, Black OEM! Is this rubbih then. I could omit from the kit and buy a better one!
    SYSTEM:

    Pentioum Duo 6400, 8 GB Ram, 500Gb Hardrive, 32x DVD Rom, 16 x TCorp Duel Layer Burner, Geforce 7900GTX.


    Bow to the gods of Digital-Digest

    http://www.wix.com/martinhopkins/designandphotography

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    it wouldn't be in my signature if it was rubbish

    my main burners, benq 1650, nec 3550, 3540, LG 4163B
    Last edited by Chewy; 5 Jun 2006 at 09:58 PM

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Super Member
    Junkie_ball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    211

    Default

    Can't say fairer than that!
    SYSTEM:

    Pentioum Duo 6400, 8 GB Ram, 500Gb Hardrive, 32x DVD Rom, 16 x TCorp Duel Layer Burner, Geforce 7900GTX.


    Bow to the gods of Digital-Digest

    http://www.wix.com/martinhopkins/designandphotography

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    later you can add a benq 1650 or 70 for an unbeatable combination

  12. #12
    King of Digital Video
    King of Digital Video
    NightTran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    eastcoast, on the beach
    Posts
    4,224

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chewy
    later you can add a benq 1650 or 70 for an unbeatable combination
    How do you use them the Nec and the Benq ( combination I mean)

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    benq 1650 in top slot primary master

    nec 3550 middle slot(or bottom) secondary master

    8x cof, nec for fast ripper of new disks, benq for ripping older disks

    benq saved for mostly scanning but some burns

    nec main burner

  14. #14
    King of Digital Video
    King of Digital Video
    NightTran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    eastcoast, on the beach
    Posts
    4,224

    Default

    Thanks , I dont think I use the Nec that much

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •