Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • wdco
    • Jun 2006

Sony VX 2000 or a new Sony HC3?

I have a decision between a new Sony HC3 (or HC1), a JVC GR-X5, or a used Sony VX 2000. My mom is 94 and I want to archive her life history and put it on a DVD. I have a recording studio and am a professional sound designer (williamcoakley.com) and would maybe like to combine music and video. I am a perfectionist… spending many hours at bestbuy, sears etc trying everything I can to determine which to get.
    <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comfficeffice" /><o> </o>
    I like the size and resolution of HD, the GR-X5 is small and delivers, but the VX is (what I think is) a broadcast quality camera tried and proven… but it’s much bigger… not something to throw in a small bag and take off.
    <o> </o>
    What do you think?
  • RFBurns
    To Infinity And Byond
    • May 2006

Hi.

As I am a Sony certified engineer/tech, and have worked with every line of Sony as well as other makes of equipment, from consumer to professional and broadcast gear, I highly recommend using professional or the broadcast stuff to yeild the highest quality and editability, especially when merging outside audio sources into your video. Since you have an audio production facility, it would be easy to interface pro end video gear to your professional audio gear, which more than likely has time code editing capability and possibly gen-lock capability, which will talk directly to the video gear, thus syncronizing with ease your video and audio segments.

Dont get me wrong tho, some of the consumer stuff can do a good job of editing and assembling video and seperate audio sources but they lack the time code and gen-lock features that are found in pro end gear. It is just a matter of how you want to proceed. If it were my project, and being it is a project of importance and historical merit, I would choose the professional equipment.

Cheers!

Here..I will fix it!