Showing results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: DVD+RW or DVD-RW

  1. #1
    Digital Video Technician
    Digital Video Technician
    Art Vandelay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    442

    Default DVD+RW or DVD-RW

    I will be recording some TV shows and they will be played on multiple DVD players and I want to put them on RW disks. The problem is that when I ask my friends if their machine will play +RW or -RW they don't seem to know (I guess I could go over and read their manual) In the past I have given all of them DVD-R disks and they worked but I would rather use RW so they can be used more than once. My Panasonic machine will only play DVD-R or DVD-RAM acording to the manual, however I have played DVD+R's in the machine but they might have been bit set to. These will be played on TV style DVD players not computer DVD ROM's. Which is more comaptible DVD+RW or DVD-RW??

    Thank you,

    AV

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    jmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    East, TX
    Posts
    8,697

    Default

    DVD+RW's that are bookmared "DVD-ROM" would be the safest most compatible disc's you could use.
    Last edited by jmet; 25 Sep 2006 at 01:31 PM

  3. #3
    Digital Video Technician
    Digital Video Technician
    Art Vandelay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    442

    Default Bitset a RW

    I did't think you could bitset a +RW like a DVD+R I know you can't bitset a
    -R disk. Can it be done with Imgburn or my favorite DVD Decrypter?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    jmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    East, TX
    Posts
    8,697

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Art Vandelay View Post
    I did't think you could bitset a +RW like a DVD+R I know you can't bitset a
    -R disk. Can it be done with Imgburn or my favorite DVD Decrypter?
    The first picture shows you where to go in ImgBurn.




    The second picture shows you what box to click to change it for +RW media.



    Make sure you select DVD-ROM for the booktype at the bottom out to the side of where it says "New Setting" after you select RW media.

    You will have to return it back to +R media after.

  5. #5
    Digital Video Technician
    Digital Video Technician
    Art Vandelay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    442

    Default Thanks

    Thank you very much. The pics. make it even better since I am more familiar with DVD Decrypter.


  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    jmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    East, TX
    Posts
    8,697

    Default

    Your very welcome! Don't forget to change it back to +R media after if you are going to use +R media.

  7. #7
    Digital Video Technician
    Digital Video Technician
    Art Vandelay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    442

    Default Bitset

    Jmet, I don't think I can Bitset my DVD drive. The model # looks to be TS-H652L and I searched and it looks to be Samsung. I looked at the Samsung site and it doesn't even show this model. It came in my new HP PC, the drive will also record to RAM aswell as +R, -R, +RW, -RW. I think I am out of luck as far as bitsetting goes. If anyone has one of these drives and can bitset please let me know.

    Thanks,

    AV


  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    jmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    East, TX
    Posts
    8,697

    Default

    Art, go here and download this program. Run it then report back here what it says word for word or post a screenshot of the window please.

    http://flashman.rpc-1.com/Firmware/D...are_detect.exe

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread....light=TS-H652L

    http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=193478

    give luk time he'll probably end up with one of these

    http://www.cdfreaks.com/article/289/5

    nero and cdspeed and dvdinfo will probably bitsett if it doesn't do it by defauls

    Supports Bitsetting for DVD+R/+RW/+R DL (BookType to DVD-ROM)
    cancell that, luk already supports it with imgburn?
    do a test
    Last edited by Chewy; 28 Sep 2006 at 11:31 AM

  10. #10
    Digital Video Technician
    Digital Video Technician
    Art Vandelay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    442

    Default Ran Program

    Jmet, this is what it says.

    Device: TSSTcorp CD/DVDW TS-H652L Firmware Version: 0603
    Device: TSSTcorp DVD-ROM TS-H352C Firmware Version: HP02

  11. #11
    Digital Video Technician
    Digital Video Technician
    Art Vandelay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    442

    Default Can I bitset or will it do it on it's own?

    Chewy, do you mean that the burner will on it's own by your quote:

    Supports Bitsetting for DVD+R/+RW/+R DL (BookType to DVD-ROM)

    meaning any DVD+R or +RW or +R DL will change on it's own to DVD-ROM . Is this something normally controlled by the software or is it bult into the DVD burner the ability to bitset?

    Not sure if I understand.

    Thanks,

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    most burners take a command from software and then remember the setting,
    some only remember till powered off and back on, please test

    your burner must be a clone of SH-S182D

    some burner/firmware combinations bitsett by default

  13. #13
    Digital Video Technician
    Digital Video Technician
    Art Vandelay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    442

    Default Thanks

    Thanks everyone. The burner by default bitset any + style DVD to DVD-ROM.


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •