Showing results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Disabling DMA?

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Super Member
    ipaulo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    The Far West
    Posts
    291

    Default Disabling DMA?

    Hello everyone, I'm trying to update firmware for my Sony DVD RW DRU-800A burner. I've googled and found 800A_KY06.EXE, my present one is KY03. I've haven't had any problems yet at least to my knowledge, but I'm thinking its time to update. Kinda of afraid to do it (if it ain't broke, don't fix it). The instructions look pretty much straight forward. They say to make sure that you disable DMA. How do you do that and is this real needed? Do I disable DMA on start-up in safe mode, in utilities? Or is it as simple as going into Device Manager and switching to PIO only? Also after I've updated do I need to go back and enable DMA or does that happen automatically. Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    Instead of worrying about it, just boot into safe mode, and funky ide drivers will not load and you will be in pio mode, there's a ton of other bad stuff that
    can't load and interfer with the flash program. Just takes a little longer.

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Super Member
    ipaulo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    The Far West
    Posts
    291

    Default

    Thanks Chewy, I'm new to this so let me see if I got this straight. 1) Run the exe. file 2) boot up in safe mode 3) make sure that DMA is on?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Chewy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    millenium falcon
    Posts
    18,971

    Default

    1. boot into safe mode
    2. dma will be off
    3. run the .exe firmware upgrade(make sure drive is empty)
    4 wait and then reboot into regular mode

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Super Member
    ipaulo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    The Far West
    Posts
    291

    Default

    Chewy, I got it to work, thank you for the help!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. disabling TwinView
    By evilwizard80011 in forum General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 8 Mar 2003, 09:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •