Showing results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Changing Audio using Virtualdub

  1. #1
    Member
    Member
    Gillou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    FRANCE/USA
    Posts
    54

    Default Changing Audio using Virtualdub

    I'm trying to change the audio of my .avi to a .WAV file using Virtualdub.
    (I'm following the method explained in the guide Basic TMPGEnc .avi/.mpg to DVD conversion guide)



    But I get an error message:



    What does it mean? Any help will be appreciated.
    Thank you

  2. #2
    Lord of Digital Video
    Lord of Digital Video
    paglamon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    22░38'12.55" N, 88░25'20.87" E
    Posts
    2,126

    Default

    Can u post the file information from Virtualdub? I think you need the Fraunhofer MPEG Layer 3 codec.

    ONLY MOMENTS LINGER...DEWDROPS ON A FALLEN LEAF

  3. #3
    Member
    Member
    Gillou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    FRANCE/USA
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Thanks for your answer Paglamon


  4. #4
    Digital Video Expert
    Digital Video Expert

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    514

    Default

    Windows comes with an ACM mp3 decoder (from Fraunhofer). So basically two possibilities. The decoder got corrupted (usually due to codec packs) or there is an issue with certain avi headers, VDub and the Fraunhofer decoder which has the same effect.

    You could always use something else or frameserve the avi with AVISynth. That way AVISynth decodes the audio on the fly and serves TMPGEnc with PCM audio. Also means faster encoding if you let AVISynth do the resizing, etc. instead of TMPGEnc.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    anonymez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    5,525

    Default

    download & install LAME ACM http://www.free-codecs.com/download/LAME_ACM_Codec.htm

    or as mentioned above, use an alternative, eg avisynth or avi-mux GUI to extract and decompress to pcm wav afterwards.
    "What were the things in Gremlins called?" - Karl Pilkington


  6. #6
    Demigod of Digital Video
    LT. Columbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    10,671

    Default

    no need to change to .wav audio. TMPGEnc will handle this audio with the proper codec.
    "One day men will look back and say I gave birth to the 20th Century". Jack The Ripper - 1888
    Columbo moments...
    "Double Shock" "The Greenhouse Jungle" "Swan Song" FORUM RULES
    "You try to contrive a perfect alibi, and it's your perfect alibi that's gonna hang ya."
    (An Exercise In Fatality, 1974)



  7. #7
    Member
    Member
    Gillou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    FRANCE/USA
    Posts
    54

    Default

    What about changing it to AC-3? Would it result in better sound quality?
    Last edited by Gillou; 15 Feb 2007 at 04:09 PM

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Changing an xvid rips' AC3 audio to mp3?
    By skoodog in forum AVI, DivX/Xvid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4 Feb 2004, 12:05 AM
  2. changing audio to match new frame rate
    By deadbeet in forum Other File Formats
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27 Apr 2003, 07:35 AM
  3. Virtual Dub for changing audio?
    By Vaughn in forum Other Software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24 Jun 2002, 06:09 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •