X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • dhgeyer
    • Jan 2009

Making highly compressed wmv files

Hello All!

I am a bit new to all of this, but I've learned quite a bit already. I can convert videos back and forth with no real problem with a couple of video editors and a couple of conversion programs I have.

One thing I am having some trouble with is getting decent quality wmv files at 640 by 480 at relatively small file sizes. I know it can be done, as various people send me such videos via email. I have seen, for example a 3 minute and 16 second 640 by 480 video that looks quite good with a file size a bit over 5 megabytes. I can't get anything like that much under 20 megs with any tool I have. I understand just enough to know that what I need is a flexible codec, and I need to know how to install it in something I have, or something I need to obtain.

The videos I want to compress are ones I take myself of various social events and such. I already have Flash figured out, so I can do streaming video on my websites, but for people with very slow connections I'd like to offer the alternative of a link to a reasonably small file that they can download and play.

What tools do I need, and what do I need to learn, and where can I learn it?

Any help with this would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Dave Geyer
  • gonwk
    Lord of Digital Video
    Lord of Digital Video
    • Dec 2005

Hi Dave,

Have you tried "Windows Movie Maker" it has a feature that you can select your Output size ... and it should be pretty glitch-free!

BTW, what OS are your running?

G!

Comment

• dhgeyer
      • Jan 2009

Gonwk,