X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • brotherd
    • Jun 2011

Cannot view/Edit complete .VOB in Premiere or Final Cut Pro

*****Full Disclosure******

I am training to be a psychologist, and therefore am completely untrained in DV editing. I make a lot of videos, so I have some experience, but I do things my way and don't often know the proper terms or language. So, I apologize in advance.

Okay, so I'm working with a .VOB file. I recorded this footage off TV, and am now in the process of inserting some of my home movies from the actual event into the broadcast footage.

When I place the DVD in the computer (Macbook Pro) or into a traditional DVD player I can watch all the footage that I recorded - roughly 1.5 hours worth.

I have both the _RM and _TS files on my hard drive. 1.5 hours of footage comes out to 3 active VOB files, _1.VOB, _2.VOB, and _3.VOB and then of course it also has the _TS.VOB file.

If I go to the footage this way, _1.VOB has ~2.5 minutes of video. I can see this by just clicking it and playing it in VLC and can also get it into the timeline on both Premiere CS5 and Final Cut Pro. When I play _2.VOB it starts off about an hour later. So, I'm somehow missing ~1hr of footage that WILL play in DVD mode or in a DVD player, but does not appear to be contained in a VOB or that is inaccessible on only this instance.

I'm relatively sure the footage data is actually in _1.VOB because that file is 1.7g.

So, any ideas why I can't see it in the _1.VOB format? I know it's there. I can watch it.

Any ideas how I can fix this situation? I'm under a deadline, b/c it's part of a birthday present for my Grandmother.

Very frustrated. Thanks!
  • r0lZ
    Lord of Digital Video
    Lord of Digital Video
    • Mar 2004

Welcome to the forum!