Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Heathsideboy
    • May 2013

Totally Green about MP4's to DVD

Okay, as the title suggests, I am just learning about this video lark.

I bought my first camcorder recently and after trying some recordings, I saved them to my laptop computer in MP4 format of course. I then put in a blank DVD disc and did what I do with my music files (in Windows media player) and add the video MP4 files to the blank DVD disc.

When I burnt all the MP4 files to the blank DVD disc and tried to play it back, it would not play on my DVD player. I was expecting to see it playback the files as a normal video, but it would not play at all. I've obviously got a lot to learn!

So what do I need to do or download to make these files so that when burnt to a DVD disc, they playback normally as a video? They play fine on the computer as files but I want to know how to burn them to disk so that they play on a DVD in a DVD player? Do I need to convert them in some way and if so how? I need some expert advice please.

Also, is it too much to ask how you use Windows movie maker to make your movie into a bit more professional movie? Also, once you've made your movie in movie maker, how do you burn it onto a blank DVD from Windows movie maker?

Lots of questions I know, but I'm willing to learn.

Thank you

HB
  • admin
    Administrator
    • Nov 2001

Usually only Blu-ray players would play MP4 files straight from a disc, and it also depends on whether the MP4 was encoded in the right way as to be compatible.